Øskår Mæyer? My first Norsk dachshund

Shira of NorwayWe met Shira, a three-year-old long-haired dachshund, on the grounds of the Natural History Museum in Oslo. Her aunt and uncle were house/pet sitting while mom and dad were on a weekend getaway. We struck up a conversation while they strolled through the lovely botanical gardens connected to the University of Oslo and near the Munch Museum.

Shira was very friendly, as were her humans. Shoot, I just realized that I forgot to ask them what the Norwegian word is for dachshund. Does anyone know?

Since meeting Shira, we’ve spied two wire-haired wiener dogs, but I wasn’t in the mood to stop the owners for a chat and a photo. Maybe next time.

 

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Øskår Mæyer? My first Norsk dachshund”

  1. Alice Says:

    on this site I found there is dachshund in many languages. Very fun to read. There’s even a Dutch:Norwegian connection.

  2. didaniel Says:

    Je bent de beste, Alice. You’re the best! I’ll check it out when I’m home. Here’s to more wiener dog/tekkel sightings!

  3. me Says:

    The Norwegian word for Dachshund is “dachs.”

Leave a Reply

