How to beat rental-car ripoff during spring break

If you know me, you know I have a big thing against most rental-car company practices. Jacking up, up, up the prices during peak season is one of my beefs. For you folks Enterprise Car Rentalflying to Florida (and I’m sure this works elsewhere) in the spring and renting a car, here’s a little trick of mine you might be able to use.  (I’d love to hear others’ strategies.)

In January I booked flights to Tampa from Manchester, NH, (where my friend Kristin is flying from), and Durham, NC, (where I’m flying from) on Southwest, and both were about $200 round-trip. Not bad for Easter weekend! But get this. Car rentals from the airport for five days were around $500!! Unbelievable.

Here’s what I did. As you probably know, Enterprise has little neighborhood offices all over the place, and they’re often (usually? always?) cheaper than airport rentals. I reserved a Indian Rocks Beach, FLcar at a location on my way to where I’ll be staying (Indian Rocks Beach). I’m paying a mere $30 extra to then drop it off at the airport when I leave. The grand total? $156!! Now that is a deal. If I picked the car up at the airport, still using Enterprise, the price would be $438. Other companies were charging even more!!

To do this fancy-schmancy different drop-off reserving, you have to call, not go online. But then Enterprise *offered* to give me the online price, saving me another whopping $5.

Enterprise is tops in car-rental customer service, and I’ve been saying this for years, not just since my $275 savings.

I’ll probably be able to get a ride from the airport to Enterprise, but if I couldn’t, a Super Shuttle ride for about $20 (including tip) would take me straight to Enterprise.

My scenario may not exactly suit your needs. For example, you could use a neighborhood Enterprise office in Tampa and be even closer. If you’re traveling in a group or family, it would be cheaper to take a taxi than pay for individual shuttles.

My main message here is that when prices are jacked up, try to rent away from the airport. Get creative!

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “How to beat rental-car ripoff during spring break”

  1. boldlygosolo Says:

    What a great tip. I had no idea…thanks!

  2. Suraya Says:

    Yup.. great tips. Spot on….

    Useful tips for cars owner, visit: http://www.love-your-car.blogspot.com/

  3. Suraya Says:

    Yup.. great tips. Spot on….

  4. joss Says:

    i work at enterprise its not ripping the company off either way they rented u a car and some people just dont wanna go searching for a car but if u do by all means airport locations are crazy expensive! lots of extra taxes on the locations so they have to have higher prices to make some money but when lots of cars goin out less cars more demand!! simple business facts supply in demand

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

